Bike stalling after 2-4 miles riding

Hummbusa

Bike stalling after 2-4 miles riding

Post by Hummbusa »

Hi everyone...new to board but have been following for months. Finally got the Pan I have been chasing for almost two years. It is a 1950 95% original. I have no trouble starting it but I ride for 2-4 miles then it starts to stall. I can restart it right away but wants to stall when I put it in gear and start to drive away. I am still able to drive for a few blocks then same thing..Let bike sit for hour or so then I am able to ride again for a few miles then it starts all over. Also I think I could let it idle forever when I restart it? Any help would be appreciated?
57JOHND
Inactive member
Bikes: -

Re: Bike stalling

Post by 57JOHND »

Hummbusa,
Welcome Aboard! New myself here and let me tell ya, there are some Salty folk here that can offer a running ton of experience. You know that already if you have been following the postings. Congrats on your '50 as it took me what seemed like forever to finally get the '57 I was looking for. To the matter at hand-kinda need more basic info-- like when it happens have you done the "its got fuel and fire" checks? Just a Guess but it kinda sounds like a fuel restriction (tank screen/fuel filter) that after the stall will refill the carb and allow it to run, at least thru the capacity of the fuel bowl . Since fuel demand is minimal at idle it very possibly could run forever, However a run up thru the gears will empty a bowl by the end of 2nd gear. Just a guess- so post more info as you get it.

Good Luck and Welcome

John
haggis
Bikes: *

Post by haggis »

Hummbusa, 57JohnD's probably on the right track..sounds like fuel starvation to me. If you got two tanks make sure the right hand one has the vented cap or you;ll build up a vacuum in your tanks and the flow will stop. Take it off, or loosen it and go for a ride,,,see what happens. Haggis.